About Áislann Chill Chartha

Áislann Chill Chartha-The Cill Chartha Cultural Centre

Cill Chartha is located in the Gaeltacht of Deisceart Tir Chonaill where the Irish language and traditions are still strong. The name Áislann is a word derived from combining two words from the Irish vocabulary of South West Donegal, Áiseanna (facilities) and Lann (building). The town of Cill Chartha and hinterland has a strong tradition of culture and artistic pursuits in the form of language, music, poetry, storytelling and painting and also it has a long association with the wool, tweed and craft industry. Being located along the seaboard of South West Donegal the area has always attracted specialist type visitors who needless to say made Cill Chartha their holiday destination on an annual if not on a biannual basis. It was this quest for information amidst an ambiance of culture, scenery and friendliness which has triggered their decision to return year after year. In fact some artists have uplifted roots from their urban homesteads to relocate in Cill Chartha which accounts for a high proportion of artists living in the area.

In 1992 the local community recognising the potential of the area decided that the development of tourism should be strategically planned so as to avoid as hoc and reactionary projects which would detract rather than add value to the existing natural and social infrastructure. This community exercise recognised that certain amenities and facilities were absent not just from the point of view of catering for the visitors but also detected that such amenities were essential from the point of view of catering for the visitors but also detected that such amenities were essential for the strengthening of bonds between local community members via cultural/artistic pursuits and leisure activities.  

As a result the Áislann project evolved, this project has made a valuable contribution to the economic and cultural revival of the area, the center is set amidst the existing Tweed and Yarn Enterprises. The Board with responsibility for the advancement of this project is committed to liaising with successful arts, culture and heritage projects within the Gaeltacht. 

Mission Statement of Áislann Chill Chartha

“To provide a high standard of educational, training and recreational amenities for the community of Kilcar and neighboring parishes while embracing and promoting Irish culture, heritage and language”


  • Promoting adult education
  • To become the hub of all social, community and cultural activity in the locality
  • The provision of recreational facilities
  • The promotion of health awareness
  • Aid in the preservation and documentation of traditional music recordings

Áislann Chill Chartha Board Members

  • Deaglan Mac Seáin 
  • Eibhlin Nic Bhriartaigh
  • Pádraig Mac Seáin 
  • Máire Úí Bheirn 
  • Eunan Ó Cuinneagáin
  • Muirís Ó hEigheartaigh
  • Thomas Pringle TD 
  • Tomas Mac Ghloinn
  • Colette Níc Dáibhéid
  • An t-Ath Eamonn Ó Gallachóir
  • Caomháin Ó Bearain
  • Cllr. Niamh Kennedy 

Áislann Chill Chartha invite to Arás an Uachtaráin

Áislann Chill Chartha were among the guest list of representatives from Social, civic, and cultural groups that had the honour of being invited to the North-South community Garden Party hosted by President Michael D. Higgins and Sabina Higgins at Arás an Uachtaráin on July 12th 2012. This memorable event was marked by the group attending the celebrations, meeting President Michael D. Higgins and his wife Sabina Higgins. The visit included an address by President Higgins, tour of the formal rooms, refreshments and entertainment and view of the grounds of Arás an Uachtaráin.

The master of ceremonies was RTÉ’s Áine Lawlor and the theme of this Garden party was “celebrating the diversity of our Irishness by acknowledging the contribution of organisation in strengthening communities across the island of Ireland.”

Pictured representing Áislann Chill Chartha with President Michael D. Higgins and his wife Sabina are: Muiris Ó hÉigheartaigh, Martina Ní Dhomhnaill, Deaglan Mac Seáin, Bríd Ní Chnáimhsí, Máire Úí Bheirn, Pádraig Mac Seáin agus Seán Ó Geaslaigh.